Merry Christmas!

2014_12 21 W&A w big nativity

13 Comments

Filed under Holidays

13 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. chrissythehyphenated

    7:30 am Christmas Day … Dearest is in the shower and I just put the last tag on the last wrapped, hand-made present! 🙂

    Like

  2. Currently just after the feast (some still eating) at the house daughter and son rent. Married son & spouse (and dog) drove in for it. Good food, family and friends. Not complaining.

    Merry Christmas, PoliNation people. Thanks for letting this unchurched heathen hang out here in the garden.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you’re not a heathen, Mindful. And I’m sure you’re a better Garden Resident than some of the rest of us. But that Oklahoma thing… It may take us a while to get used to that. 😉 Blessings to you and your good lady!

      Like

      • chrissythehyphenated

        I’ve heard Oklahoma is beautiful, but what do I know? All those Fly Over States are a blur to us New Yawkers.

        Like

        • chrissy: “I’ve heard Oklahoma is beautiful, but what do I know?”

          One of my favorite comments about this NE part of the state, “green country,” was from an Irish group, coming to the local annual OK Mozart festival. Of the drive up from Tulsa, they said, it really reminded them of the rolling green hills of home.

          Like

          • chrissythehyphenated

            When my folks visited Ireland, my mom said she learned when they flew into the airport why it’s called The Emerald Isle. It really looks like an emerald!

            Like

      • Grunt: “Oh, you’re not a heathen, Mindful… But that Oklahoma thing…”

        Well, I have been informed by some Christians that I’m not a Christian, when I express some quibbles with their Christian Fundamentals. However, I seem to myself a heathen, “informally” speaking, the uncultured or uncivilized person. It’s the Wild West upbringing. Muddy barn boots on the white shag carpet. (Don’t mind me, I’m just rambling.)

        Wild West upbringing … recalls this story:

        Dad & my older brother & I took a station-wagon vacation to points East, end destination New York (where we met Mom and our sisters who flew in) for the ’64 World’s Fair. At some restaurant stop in Pennsylvania, my brother ended up regaling some local kids with a big Oklahoma-style put-on (the stuff you find out in the cow pastures). He told them about how we were moving to New York, how we’d barely escaped the state, fleeing from the burning fort with wild Indians shooting arrows at us, how we’d lost our mom & sisters in the attack. The kids were big-eyed, but some harbored doubts, until he showed them our Oklahoma license plates. Then they were convinced.

        😀

        Like

  3. Ting

    Merry Christmas! Just finished washing the last of the dishes for today. Now on tomorrow, and Mr. Ting’s birthday.

    Liked by 1 person