I’m going to be spiralizing soon!

Amazon just emailed that my vegetable spiralizer is in the mail. I’ve got zucchini, yellow squash, and sweet potatoes in the hydrator ready to go. The manufacturer sent me some tips. Here are two I need to memorize:

To prevent watery zucchini, yellow squash and cucumber noodles, place your vegetable spirals in a wire sieve or colander and salt generously, tossing strands to lightly coat. “Sweat” the noodles by letting them stand for 20-30 minutes. This removes excess water. Rinse with running water, drain well and pat dry with paper towels.

Since sweet potatoes are tougher, prepare them by poking some holes in your potato, wrapping it in a paper towel, popping into the microwave for 30 seconds, then letting cool before spiralizing. Do not overcook or it will turn to mush!

I picked this model because I have very limited storage space in my kitchen and am only cooking for 2. There are much better ones for cooks with more storage and bigger families.

Spiralizer

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Health & Nutrition

Leave a comment

