Not surprising at all

2017_05 Obama speaking fees by Branco

Even the New York Times criticized Obama’s Big Fat Speaking Fee, though the OpEd demonstrated an astonishing level of naivté:

Senator Barack Obama wrote in 2006: “I know that as a consequence of my fund-raising I became more like the wealthy donors I met. I spent more and more of my time above the fray, outside the world of immediate hunger, disappointment, fear, irrationality, and frequent hardship of … the people that I’d entered public life to serve.”

Is it a betrayal of that sentiment for the former president to have accepted a reported $400,000 to speak to a Wall Street firm? Perhaps not, but it is disheartening that a man whose historic candidacy was premised on a moral examination of politics now joins almost every modern president in cashing in. And it shows surprising tone deafness.

“Disheartening”?  “Surprisng tone deafness?”  I’m sorry, but what planet exactly have these people been on?!  Sheesh.

Source:

Comments Off on Not surprising at all

Filed under Barack Obama

Comments are closed.