Household Uses for Cream of Tartar

I recently dug some pretty brass tea candle holders out of my cupboard. They got pushed to the back in there because I’m allergic to hot wax. But Mama Buzz introduced me to battery powered tea candles last year, when she and the kids made me a few pretty holders for Christmas with glue, old glass jars, and colored tissue. I’ve found them very handy during power outages. It’s not a lot of light, but enough to help me orient and navigate until the power comes back. So, anyway, I thought I’d order a case of the tea lights and use my pretty brass holders as well … except they’re SO tarnished.  Enter google and a simple, inexpensive brass cleaner!

cream-of-tartar

CLEAN METAL and PORCELAIN:  Mix with an acidic liquid such as lemon juice or white vinegar to make a paste-like cleaning agent for metals such as brass, aluminum or copper. Mix with water for other cleaning applications such as removing light stains from porcelain.

CLEAN RUST: Mix into a paste with hydrogen peroxide to clean rust from some hand tools, notably hand files. The paste is applied and allowed to set for a few hours and then washed off with a baking soda/water solution. Another rinse with water, a thorough drying and a thin application of oil will protect the file from further rusting.

CRAFTING: Mix with plaster of Paris to slow the set time.  Use with flour, water, salt, and oil for homemade play dough.

Source:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_bitartrate

Comments Off on Household Uses for Cream of Tartar

Filed under Family & Friends

Comments are closed.