Sorry, Catholic Haters, but I don’t buy it

Firstly, it makes no sense to me that God sent His only Son to suffer, die, and rise again to save us from damnation, only to condemn all of the multi-millions* of Catholics to eternal damnation for believing some point of doctrine that you happen to think is wrong.

Secondly, what if you’re wrong and we’re right?  Do you seriously believe that God will just whoosh you into Satan’s fiery grip because YOU got some point of doctrine wrong?  Really?  If that’s what you think, then I feel deeply and truly sorry for you.  It must be awful to live in such fear. Try reading and meditating on the Parable of the Good Samaritan.  And look up who the Samaritans were.  It’ll help a lot.

good-samaritan

Thirdly, Jesus Himself told us what criteria He will use to judge us and it’s not based on what we think we know is true about the Bible.  It’s based on how we behaved toward our brothers and sisters here on Earth while we had the chance.  It’s in the Bible … you know that book right?  The one you THINK Catholics never read?  Here’s the pertinent passage in case you missed it:

Matthew 25:31-46 The Judgment of the Nations

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit upon his glorious throne, and all the nations will be assembled before him. And he will separate them one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

judgment-of-nations

“Then the king will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father. Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him and say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?  When did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?  When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?’  And the king will say to them in reply, ‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’

Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you accursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.  For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,  a stranger and you gave me no welcome, naked and you gave me no clothing, ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.’

“Then they will answer and say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or ill or in prison, and not minister to your needs?’  He will answer them, ‘Amen, I say to you, what you did not do for one of these least ones, you did not do for me.’  And these will go off to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

*Current count of Catholics world-wide = 1.2 billion.  Add that to all of the Catholics around the globe, who ever lived, from the Apostolic Age until now.

FYI: This rant was inspired by an “All Catholics Are Going to Hell” YouTube video I unwillingly stumbled upon that was posted by a group with the unlikely name of Eternal Love of Jesus Ministries.  Riiiiight.  The blurb under the video credits Chick.com for the content, which makes sense.  Chick has been spreading lies about Catholic teaching for nearly a century.  Founder Jack Chick died two months ago.  One cannot help but wonder how his visit with Jesus went.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Chick

3 Comments

Filed under Catholic Church, Christianity

3 responses to “Sorry, Catholic Haters, but I don’t buy it

  1. I saw that stupid video too — it would have made me laugh if it hadn’t been so perverse and offensive.

    The thing that made me reject the religious tradition in which I was raised (well, one of the things; there were many) was the notion that when you die, God administers a theology exam, and if you fail it (anything less than 100% constitutes failure), you are doomed to the everlasting fires of hell. They never quite phrased it that way, of course, but that was what it boiled down to. I couldn’t accept it then and I can’t accept it now. A God who consigns people whom He created (and whom He supposedly loves!) to eternal conscious torment on a technicality is not a God that anyone could love. Fear, yes; love, no. If all God wanted from us was that we fear Him, it might be plausible. The fact that God desires our love renders it completely implausible.

    Like

  2. When I first read this, I wanted to comment, but couldn’t quite put together a coherent thought. (Probably due to the Arctic temperatures, now waning.) But I now have some borrowed thought, from a couple of commenters today at Ace.

    Bishop Fulton Sheen (paraphrase): “There are probably not one in a thousand people who hate the Catholic Church, but there are thousands of people who hate what they think is the Catholic Church.”

    and

    I forget who it was, Chesterton probably, who said, and I paraphrase, “Christianity hasn’t been tried and found wanting, it has been found difficult and not tried.”

    I gather that Sheen is on the sainthood path. Has there ever been a saint who had a TV show?

    Liked by 1 person

    • chrissythehyphenated

      You made me curious. 🙂 Here’s what I found:

      In 2012, Pope Benedict XVI authorized a decree that recognized the heroic virtues of the beloved archbishop, who served as host of the “Catholic Hour” radio show and the television show “Life is Worth Living.”

      The Peoria diocese opened the Cause for Canonization in 2002 after the New York archdiocese (where Sheen was Archbishop) said it would not explore the case. Sheen was born in Peoria.

      Archbishop Sheen’s intercession is credited with the miraculous recovery of a pronounced stillborn American baby from the Peoria area.

      In June 2014, a panel of theologians that advises the Congregation for the Causes of Saints ruled that the baby’s recovery was miraculous.

      The baby, later named James Fulton Engstrom, was born in September 2010 showing no signs of life. As medical professionals tried to revive him, his parents prayed for his recovery through the intercession of Fulton Sheen.

      Although the baby showed no pulse for an hour after his birth, his heart started beating again and he escaped serious medical problems.

      http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/news/archbishop-fulton-sheens-beatification-cause-could-soon-be-moving-forward-56220/

      More about the miracle baby

      http://www.catholicherald.co.uk/news/2014/07/01/fulton-sheen-and-the-miracle-of-baby-james/

      Like