Kleenex Alert

Note to the precious few who wander by here: If you read a little of this post and do not get a lump in your throat or start to tear up my suggestion is to leave now and go check out Huffpo or some other website that emphasizes hate and bitterness over empathy and human compassion.

Sick Boy Dies In Santa’s Arms After Getting Last Wish To See Him

It’s a Christmas story from East Tennessee that has gained worldwide attention.
Eric Schmitt-Matzen spreads Christmas cheer year-round and grants wishes as Santa Claus. His long white beard and curled mustache makes him perfect for the part.
He and his wife, who joins him as Mrs. Claus, even went to Santa school six years ago.
But a month and a half ago, he answered the call to grant what would end up being one child’s final Christmas wish.
“He was more concerned about missing Christmas, than dying,” Schmitt-Matzen recalled to WBIR 10News.
He said he had just gotten home from work when a nurse at a local hospital called and said there was a very sick 5-year-old boy who wanted to see Santa Claus.
He was at the hospital in about 15 minutes and met the boy’s mother and other family members. She handed Schmitt-Matzen a toy to give to her child.
“When I got there, it was my job to make sure he got Christmas,” Schmitt-Matzen said.
With this tough task ahead of him, he asked everyone else to leave the room so that he wouldn’t break down in tears.
This is how he described what happened next, to a Knoxville News Sentinel columnist:
“When I walked in, he was laying there, so weak it looked like he was ready to fall asleep. I sat down on his bed and asked, ‘Say, what’s this I hear about you’re gonna miss Christmas? There’s no way you can miss Christmas! Why, you’re my Number One elf!
“He looked up and said, ‘I am?’
“I said, ‘Sure!’
“I gave him the present. He was so weak he could barely open the wrapping paper. When he saw what was inside, he flashed a big smile and laid his head back down.
‘“They say I’m gonna die,’ he told me. ‘How can I tell when I get to where I’m going?’
“I said, ‘Can you do me a big favor?’
“He said, ‘Sure!’
“When you get there, you tell ’em you’re Santa’s Number One elf, and I know they’ll let you in.
“He said, ‘They will?’
“I said, ‘Sure!’
“He kinda sat up and gave me a big hug and asked one more question: ‘Santa, can you help me?’
“I wrapped my arms around him. Before I could say anything, he died right there. I let him stay, just kept hugging and holding on to him.

Jimmy and Dwayne Johnson Surprise ‘Tonight Show’ Staffer with Military Homecoming

I HOPE I NEVER GET TIRED OF THESE
Soldier Surprises Kids In An Emotional Reunion At School

Independence middle schooler embraces dad during surprise reunion following his two year deployment

REPRINTED FROM CURMUDGEON @ POLITICAL CLOWN PARADE
Something Truly Magical
A photographer in Australia has captured the magic of Christmas for some children who are hospitalized and through the magic of Photoshop™ transported them to a place of joy where there is no pain or suffering.
Karen Alsop of Story Art established the Christmas Wish Project for the children who are unsure of what their future holds. She wanted to give them a gift of hope—to set them free of their IV tubes and monitors and hospital beds—to rekindle their faith in the future.
What they didn’t know was the photographs were much more than a standard shopping mall Santa photo shoot. The magic was just beginning…
The children cried tears of joy when they saw their photos for the first time.






You may want to grab a hanky for this video.

12299366_1667931473475557_5369882987450902091_n

15203114_1169541929794715_2906089199571900605_n

15241928_711361255687170_2401599877672663201_n

5 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Videos

5 responses to “Kleenex Alert

  1. Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🎄xoxo

    Like

  2. About the Santa story: I had seen the headline and noted the video, but put off reading or watching, because just the headline was so moving, and this season has my eyes kinda scratchy a lot.

    But I finally read the story here. And I’m glad I did. Thanks, Pete.

    You don’t think the Santa job will ever be that hard, I’m sure. But as Milady said, he did the job right.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pete, are you getting kickbacks from Kimberley-Clark or something?

    Like

  4. Viral story about boy dying in Santa’s arms might not be real

    I don’t know what to think about this. Just passing it along.

    “The News Sentinel cannot establish that Schmitt-Matzen’s account is inaccurate, but more importantly, ongoing reporting cannot establish that it is accurate,” he wrote in the post. “Therefore, because the story does not meet the newspaper’s standards of verification, we are no longer standing by the veracity of Schmitt-Matzen’s account.”

    The Post also called about two dozen hospitals in the Tennessee area since Schmitt-Matzen’s story went viral, all of which said they didn’t have any documentation of it happening at their facility.

    Like

  5. chrissythehyphenated

    Many Kleenex Alert! Great compilation. The middle schooler’s dad has an impressive rack … the ribbons are ranked from most important on top and least on bottom. He’s got a Bronze Star Medal ribbon on top, an Army Commendation Medal ribbon with what looks like four stars (repeat awards) and Meritorious Service Medal ribbon in the next row, and an Army Achievement Medal ribbon with 3 stars below that.

    Like