The Seven Harsh Realities of Life for Millennials

15095471_1286620684694337_8763702303038569669_n

7 Harsh Realities Of Life Millennials Need To Understand
1. Your Feelings Are Largely Irrelevant

2.. You Cannot Be Whatever You Want To Be

3. Gender Studies Is A Waste Of Money

4. If You Live In America, You’re Already In The 1%

5. You Don’t Have A Right To It Just Because You Exist

6. You DO Have The Right To Live As You Please — But Not To Demand People Accept It

If you want to cross-dress, smoke marijuana, drink lots of alcohol, have lots of sex, and, yes, even go to school for gender studies, then by all means, go for it. Government should not be allowed to legislate people’s behavior as long as it doesn’t infringe upon someone else’s rights, but that doesn’t mean society isn’t allowed to have an opinion.

7. The Only Safe Space Is Your Home

No matter where you go in life, someone will be there to offend you. Maybe it’s a joke you overheard on vacation, a spat at the office, or a difference of opinion with someone in line at the grocery store. Inevitably, someone will offend you and your values. If you cannot handle that without losing control of your emotions and reverting back to your “safe space” away from the harmful words of others, then you’re best to just stay put at home. Remember, though: if people in the outside world scare you, people on the internet will downright terrify you. It’s probably best to just accept these harsh realities of life and go out into the world prepared to confront them wherever they may be waiting.

15220177_1290062047683534_8409601300708128586_n

15337604_1801731816763419_5489735200629598210_n

14079525_1224170294308767_1544892731463873169_n

11209434_1026541674071631_2104779133328434158_n

I’M A MEMBER OF A CLUB MILLENNIALS CAN NEVER BE A PART OF:
12832527_1019153171479857_8873318457954831017_n

8 Comments

Filed under Funny Stuff

8 responses to “The Seven Harsh Realities of Life for Millennials

  1. jbob45

    In 1991 thriller “Deceived,” starring Goldie Hawn, most of the movie’s gist has faded from memory except one scene. During a dinner party, one whiny little snot began disrupting the evening with ridiculous demands which the parents met with distressing appeasement. After watching the infant tyrant water-board everyone to his will, Goldie, disgusted, muttered “Oh for God’s sake, aren’t there any adults here?” then grabbed the kid and flushed him down the toilet. Well, she didn’t really flush the kid, but the point is: it’s easy to mock millennials for bratty behavior, but it’s parents and adults who aided and abetted. Take a bow, whoever you are…in legal parlance y’all are accessories after the fact.

    Liked by 2 people

    • chrissythehyphenated

      I once asked a mother raising a future millennial what she was doing to teach her only child that she was not the center of the world. The woman had NOT THE SLIGHTEST IDEA what I was talking about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jbob45

        Ha-ha! Next time ask same question to a mother raising two future millennials and see if y’get the same response.

        Like

        • chrissythehyphenated

          I raised three, not a one of which is a princess. 🙂 Of course, I took pride in being the Meanest Mom in the Whole World! LOL

          Like

  2. jbob45

    Years ago I went to art school to hone a passion for making art assemblages from found objects like bottle caps, rusted wire and used condoms. After graduating, I enjoyed a career producing useless stuff with Dada-esque titles for clients eager to second-mortgage their homes for a piece of artistic nonsense. Life was good. Then one morning, I noticed the skin beneath my neck and behind my elbows was sagging. I mentioned this to my dermatologist during an annual screening, and was told that the primary occupational hazard for people who make collages for a living is loss of collagen. Hmm. I guess if I had gone to collage I would’ve learned that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • chrissythehyphenated

      Groan!!!! LOL I majored in Studio Art for one semester, just long enough to waste a whole lot of tuition on a Studio Painting class in which the Professor showed up exactly two times all semester and the other students, who fancied themselves “artistes”, were rude and crude to the rest of us. I learned NOTHING. I was so desperate to get SOME good out of the studio time and wasted tuition that I went to the public library and checked out all the books on How To Paint.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am so fortunate that the art teachers I had in high school were 1) interested in teaching solid techniques (perspective, shading, etc), using a variety of media (ink, pencils, water color, etc) and 2) knew to let me “do my own thing” once I’d shown mastery of a technique.
        In college, the only “art” class I took was a book-binding course. Prof was great! Very much like Mike Rowe, just in love with design and old school printing tech. But very down to earth and practical, for all that he taught a class on how to do by hand what is mostly done by machines these days.very fortunate I didn’t have the experience described above!

        Liked by 1 person

        • chrissythehyphenated

          I’m envious. I had one and only one art teacher who taught me anything. He had an actual curriculum. The rest of them just baby sat chaotic rooms full of kids doing whatever they felt like doing. I could do THAT at home!

          I was OVER THE MOON when I went to my first high school open house and my daughter’s art teacher demonstrated some of the lessons she did. She had a curriculum!! She was teaching my kid real stuff!!

          All my girls studied with her and two of them took every class she offered. We have two gorgeous sculptures they made in Advanced Sculpture. I treasure them.

          Liked by 1 person