I Hate It When They Get the Words Wrong

In full disclosure, I am an aging (far from gracefully) veteran of the garage band wars of the mid-60’s to early 70’s. There has always been a lot of songs with words few people, if any, got right. It never seemed to matter much, though. If we had a request for a song that I didn’t know all the words to, I’d make sure the guitars and drums played loud enough that I could just yell something unintelligible into the microphone.
Probably the most notorious song for getting it wrong was “Louie Louie” by the Kingsmen. Everybody thought the lyrics were filthy but I saw an interview once with the actual band members who explained what was really said.
All things considered, as an old rocker I’m totally put off by the garbage they call music these days. I always figured I had a pretty firm grip on the English language, but I listen to that rap crap and I can only pick out a word here and there. To me, it all sounds the same, so who’s to say what’s good and what isn’t? I suppose it all depends on what you grew up with. At least our music had instruments… and harmony… and melody… and no rap.

THIS IS THE FIRST SONG EVERY BAND LEARNED. THERE ARE ONLY 3 CHORDS.

AND NOW THE REST OF THE STORY

safe_image-2

safe_image-3

One of my favorite movies is Bull Durham, starring Kevin Costner, that bug-eyed harpy Susan Saran Wrap, and her former boy toy Tiny Tim Robbins. I especially liked this clip, since I used to sing “Try A Little Tenderness.” A great song.

This has been one of those posts with no redeeming social values that I’m famous for.

6 Comments

Filed under Music

6 responses to “I Hate It When They Get the Words Wrong

  1. jbob45

    I love posts with no redeeming vowel use.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pistol Pete

    Ba dump-bump,cymbal crash.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrissythehyphenated

    The CSI theme song bugged the heck out of me. The words sound like, “Oooooh Wally. Ooh ooh. Ooh ooh. I really wanna know.” Huh? I finally googled it. They’re allegedly singing, “Who are you? Ooh ooh. Ooh ooh. I really wanna know.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My favorite misheard lyric story: When my son was little, we had an LP of Christmas music that included “The Christmas Song” by Mel Tormé, a.k.a. “Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire.” The bridge, as you’ll no doubt recall, goes: “They know that Santa’s on his way / He’s loaded lots of toys and goodies on his sleigh,” etc. One day my son looked at me in puzzlement and asked me why Santa had loaded “lots of poison goodies on his sleigh.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Woah, a really old Peanuts cartoon. Nice find, Pete. (A friend’s family had reprint books of all the early Peanuts cartoons, which I devoured hungrily. Back when Snoopy still acted like a dog!)

    I actually saw the Kingsmen in the early 70s (whatever the lineup was by then) at a friend’s college homecoming. In the acoustically awful gym. With it cranked up too high to make out the words. So it was perfect Louie Louie.

    But my college beat the pants off that – we had Zappa & the Mothers!

    Favorite mis-heard lyric: my older sister was dating a guy named Bobby when the Beatles released the song “Can’t Bobby Love?” She was worried.

    Like