Why Essential Oils Help

A massage oil blend that suits your needs and preferences can be very helpful in the treatment of chronic pain.  Certain essential oils reduce inflammation, relieve pain, increase blood circulation, and reduce the stress and anxiety that pain causes.

Essential oils are truly amazing.  I raised my kids on them.  Tea tree oil for lice and ringworm.  Eucalyptus oil for colds.  Manuka for warts.  Ginger for tummy aches.  Lavender and Peppermint for headaches.  Lemon and Rosemary for study aid.  When they moved out, they each got a wooden box with a starter set of oils and a book.  When they deployed, they got travel sets to keep in their packs.

When my youngest was at boot camp, I dripped some clove oil (relieves neuralgia) on a letter to her, figuring she was pretty achy from all the PT.  She told me later she burst into tears when she opened the envelope.  Her bunk mate asked if she’d gotten bad news and she sobbed, “Nooooo.  It just smells like HOME.”

Over the years, I’ve gotten more help from essential oils than from OTC or prescription medicines and at a fraction of the cost.  Years ago, I designed a massage blend for a bi-polar friend.  Using it did not get her off her meds, but it improved her symptom swing enough that she was able to reduce her meds and live a much more comfortable life.

I was hospitalized in July for kidney failure.  I’m doing better now, but chronic kidney disease is a fact of life.  So when my doctor cleared me to start using essential oils again, I researched and designed a kidney health blend that I use on my neck and shoulders.  One of the oils is specifically for inflammation, so when I wrenched my knee last week, I started using it there as well.  It really helps.

There is a wealth of information about essential oils and how to use them safely and effectively.  I bought a couple of books and routinely check on-line as well.  I’ve put a lot of what I’ve learned in an album at My Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/christine.bravomom/media_set?set=a.230556967092519.1073741856.100004146523282&type=3.

I buy my oils and supplies (empty bottles, pipettes, carrier oils) @ http://www.aromathyme.com/.  It’s a woman-owned, home-based business, which is something I like to support.  And Debbie has good quality products at fair prices with good customer service.

Comments Off on Why Essential Oils Help

Filed under Health & Nutrition

Comments are closed.