Their doctors were wrong

Although science has recently discovered the ability of babies in the womb to “self-correct” abnormalities, doctors continue to pressure parents to abort their unborn because they might be disabled.

2016_05 03 Jax is healthy

  • Titus’ mother was told her son would practically be a vegetable. She said no to abortion. Titus (who does have spina bifida) is very intelligent and able. He hit all his milestones at or before date. He goes to school and enjoys sports.
  • At 20-weeks, Ciaran’s mother was told her son would likely be born paralyzed, incontinent, and have no quality of life. She said no to abortion. Ciaran, now three, has no health problems and is developing like any other toddler.
  • Donna’s unborn daughter was diagnosed with Down Syndrome. Donna said no to abortion and learned at birth that the diagnosis was wrong. The same thing happened to Jennifer.
  • B was told 3 times to abort her twins because one of them had Downs. She said no. They were both born healthy.
  • Phil’s neighbor was told her unborn child had severe issues and she should abort it. She said no. Her handsome, healthy, 20-something son went through school in the gifted and talented program.
  • Hadassah was two months along when she started bleeding. The ultrasound showed an empty fetal sac, with no heartbeat. The doctor wanted to do a D&C to remove the dead baby. She asked for some time to talk to God and her Rabbi. The next ultrasound a normal for two months fetal sac and a heartbeat. Her son was born healthy at 37 weeks.
  • Rachel’s doctors said her baby had too little amniotic fluid and was sure to die, so she should abort him. Alfie’s parents said no to abortion. Later in the pregnancy, the doctors said Alfie was likely to be born without kidneys and no lung function. The parents again said no to abortion. Then the doctors said he might have a squashed face or club foot as well. Alfie was born with no health problems at all.

Sources:

8 Comments

Filed under Abortion, Down Syndrome

8 responses to “Their doctors were wrong

  1. I was subjected to what I considered a completely unnecessary ultrasound when I was expecting my third child. (This was more than a quarter century ago, when ultrasounds were not routine; usually the doctor ordered them only if he/she suspected something was amiss.) I went along with the test only because I didn’t feel like arguing with my doctor, but I would have been better off refusing it. The ultrasound supposedly showed that my baby’s intestines were outside of her body. They scheduled me for another ultrasound a little later to confirm the original diagnosis, but it didn’t. Later they made me have another ultrasound just to be sure everything was normal — which it had been all along. My baby was born perfectly normal and healthy, ten pounds two ounces, Apgar score 9/10. But they had made me go through all kinds of completely unnecessary anxiety when I thought there might be something wrong with her. Oh well… at least no one ever told me I should abort her, so I’m thankful for that! I wouldn’t have aborted her, but I would have been plenty angry and upset, which would only have made the pregnancy harder.

    Like

  2. Ting

    Good grief. I remember those days when an ultrasound was only done when they thought something was amiss. That must have caused you a lot of stress.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It did, and all for no reason. If I remember correctly, the first ultrasound was to determine my due date — which was stupid, since a) my babies never came on their due dates, and b) I knew when conception had occurred, so there was no question of how far along I was. But they made me do it anyway, and then one thing led to another…

      I’d had an ultrasound with the previous pregnancy because my doctor suspected twins, which turned out to be a false alarm. By the time I had baby #4 in 1995, they were doing ultrasounds routinely on everyone who showed up with a positive pregnancy test. I thought it was dumb then, and I still think so, but that’s the way they do things nowadays. To make matters worse, we had no insurance at that time and those tests are EXPENSIVE. I cried when I got the bill.

      Still, things could be worse. A woman I know who had her babies while she and her husband were stationed in Germany told me that when you’re pregnant in Germany you get a routine ultrasound at every single prenatal checkup. Ugh!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (5-13-2016) – My Daily Musing

  4. We as doctors must remember to spell our names correctly. Dr. is spelled doctor not GOD! Most are well intentioned. It is our job to share our findings and potential risks and outcomes. It is our job to support our patients and work with them; not dictate the decisions they should make. It is not up to doctors to make the decision who lives and whose life we shall sacrifice. We are people like anyone else. Good doctors recognize we have chosen a career to help people live the quality of life THEY choose. Thank you for sharing this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • chrissythehyphenated

      Thank YOU. I’ve had a lot of frustrating experiences with petty gods in white coats who were offended that I expected them to be paid consultants.

      Like