DO YOU REMEMBER THESE???

As I whiz past my 900th post!

607j1any2uysik

THIS POPULAR TOY WAS OUTLAWED DUE TO PEOPLE GETTING SKULL FRACTURES
67943_521553404555687_1712102659_n

1003359_506151009465467_784749506_n

I SAT ON THE BASEMENT STAIRS AND WATCHED GRANNY USE ONE OF THESE FOR HOURS BEFORE SHE TOOK THE CLOTHES OUTSIDE TO DRY ON A CLOTHESLINE IN THE SUNSHINE.NOTHING COMPARED TO SLEEPING ON AIR-DRIED SHEETS
10153061_10154029992785160_1345385940_n

10395169_10152150552172338_5104019626946540644_n

SOME PEOPLE THOUGHT THESE WERE LIKE PIXIE STIX….THEY’RE NOT
10360900_10203133915641483_5710932229789706141_n

10556385_10152617947953552_5155424976406663913_n

C’MON,YOU KNOW YOU DID SOME SMOOCHIN’ HERE
Drive-InMovie_Full-772420

g7zom7mpt9g3i2

fw

ASIDE FROM HER STOVE,THIS WAS THE SUM TOTAL OF GRANNY’S KITCHEN APPLIANCES
thCAL4P660

I beg you forgiveness for indulging in a little nostalgia. These are all part of a happier time. Before January 2017 finally comes I fear there won’t be much left to look back on from what once made us great.

7 Comments

Filed under Nostalgia

7 responses to “DO YOU REMEMBER THESE???

  1. except for the Kraft fudgies I know most of those things. I kinda remember when my parents had a copper before they got their first washing machine. All of our clothing, sheets etc. were dried on the clothesline, on a Hills Rotary Hoist to be precise.

    Like

  2. I think we’ve still got a pair of those clacker balls laying around. Those were fun, but pretty much guaranteed to give you a goose-egg on the noggin.

    Congrats on 900, Pete, but don’t you have over a 1000 already? Seemed to me you did.

    Like

  3. Pistol Pete

    No,it just seems like it.

    Like

  4. Forgiveness? Nay, thanks, Pete, for a most enjoyable random collection of blasts from the past.

    Rather fight than switch – An extra-stupid slogan in an age of stupid slogans. Never smoked, but I can sing a bunch of old cig commercial jingles. Over, under, arro-ounnd, and through…

    Clacker balls – a friend had some; that was good enough. Darn this age! Why can’t kids get clacker ball concussions? How else will they learn?

    I’ve used outhouses a few places, but never lived where that’s all we had. Now, Mom has stories about country living. In the winter. Heh.

    Washer/wringers – Aussie: “copper”? Are you speaking Australian again? Wikipedia: “A large copper vessel used for heating water and laundry (archaic).” Heh. Very, very dangerous things, wringers! Steep learning curve. Steep and potentially very painful. There’s a reason the expression “going through the wringer” persists.

    Pencil and cassette tape – I did not make the connection until I read the caption that said there was a connection and then I made it and then I chuckled. Ooooh, yes, many minutes twirling hubs.

    Flavored milk straws? I had forgotten udderly about these. Not a thought given to them in over half a century. But, I do recall! I don’t think they were around where I was much or for long. Or maybe got them when visiting relatives? Weird.

    I’m pretty sure I have an old dial-type phone in the museum catacombs; also a touch-tone wall phone, that very yellow color; but not a dial wall phone. You know, dials could get pretty dirty. Public phone dials – brrr! But as for phones, I always like to say, when I was very young, we had super-advanced voice-activated telephones. No buttons, no dial. I picked up the receiver, the lovely voice said, “Number ple-ase?” I recited my friend Tom’s number “Two Four Six, please.” (“Please,” as we were taught by the Phone Company eduction films shown in school.) Voila! Ringy dingy, somebody at Tommy’s house answered! Someday it will be that easy and friendly again.

    Milady mentions at her house growing up with several kids, all ’round each of their two wall phones grew a cloud of numbers written on the wall. Until it was painted over. Then it began again.

    Ah, Drive-Ins were already fading in my youth, and I never took a date there to make out. Girlfriend & I were hi-tone. We went to the real theater to actually watch the movie (arm around her shoulder for an hour and a half – ow!). Then we fogged the Mustang’s windows at some park; never got that much-feared rap on the window. 😉

    Kraft fudgies? Used to like those, when Mom let us have them around.

    Okay, is that the loading dock in back of a Woolworth’s or what? I remember them being more inviting. 🙂

    A mixer is still a vital household item; an excellent wedding gift. For newlyweds who actually cook, anyway. Some surely do. Don’t they? I think Mom had that very Sunbeam when we were young.

    Boy, nostalgia just makes me feel like I can’t wait to see what the next sixty years will bring. It’s just getting more interesting all the time.

    For certain values of “interesting.”

    Here’s where I apologize for rambling.

    Like

  5. Pistol Pete

    My granny would take me to the Woolworth store in town to have lunch.She’d order her coffee with 4 creamers(it was called boston coffee) and I’d get a cherry coke from the fountain with a hand-formed burger fried on the flat top with a buttered bun that was just a little crisp around the edge and soft in the middle from condensation.A little mustard and raw onion and a basket with enough fries to feed thrashers(another grannyism.) I sure miss those days.

    Like

    • Ting

      Well, I have spent the past 3 weeks going down memory lane, over and over again, with my mother and her 89 year old sister and her 93 year old brother. It was fun, but do they ever repeat themselves! I am a patient woman, but there were a few times…..Let’s just say that it was a good thing that I could walk fast down the beach from time to time.

      I am really feeling lucky right now. I am on the jury list for the U.S. District Court downtown, and I begin serving next week. If It had been 2 weeks earlier, I might be sitting on that jury for Bob and Maureen McDonnell’s trial right now. They expect it to last as long as 6 weeks! I don’t know how many court rooms they have, but maybe that trial will last so long that I will never have to go down there at all!!

      Happy 900th!

      Like

      • My goodness, Ting, you come from long-lived stock, at least on your mother’s side! Here’s hoping you take after her. 🙂

        Another friend whom I’ve known all my life still has both parents living (rare for people our age) — her mother is about to turn 99, and her dad is 95. They still live independently and are all there mentally. I envy her, because regardless of which parent she takes after, she has the longevity gene. I’m not so lucky. If I take after my father, I might have another 25 or 30 years to go, but if I take after my mother… well, better not to think about that, I guess!

        Like