A Dog Lover for Romney

My dogs ride inside their crates in the back seat of the car … but we don’t have 5 kids and all the luggage that a vacationing family of 7 would need.

IOW, the Romneys’ choices were to kennel the dog for the entire vacation or securely strap his travel crate to the roof. My guess is that Seamus preferred the roof to a lonely trip to some kennel.

This is such a nothing issue. Sad to say, it seems to have been started by Gingrich supporters! Argh. They make it sound like he strapped the DOG to the roof. Sheesh. They strapped the CRATE to the roof. Those crates are rated for air travel.

Besides … I’ve seen plenty of dogs traveling in cars with their heads hanging out a window or, worse, loose in the backs of pickup trucks. I used to let my dog hang out the window until the day she got over-excited by a squirrel and fell out! That was a long time before doggy seat belts and such. I started attaching her leash to the seat belt, but I still let her hang out until the vet told me how bad it was for her eyes and ears.

As for crates themselves being cruel … bushwa. I had a brain damaged dog once who would have a nervous breakdown whenever he got left alone. And by “alone” I mean, with another dog and several cats! He destroyed the couch, an expensive art book and the bathroom flooring before I discovered airline crates.

Crate training is now a well-recognized benefit for dogs, but back then, it was “You put him in a box! That’s cruel!” (My father’s comment.) Yeah, well … when Merlin was in his crate, he was fine about me leaving for school. It was his place. He LOVED his crate. I could open the door and say, “Box”, and he’d RUN in! He felt safe and secure in there.

One morning, I was sick in bed. When my roomie left and locked the door, Merlin started pacing and whining like he was about to have a panic attack. I called out, “I’m still here,” and he came running in and the look on his face clearly said, “Oh, Thank GOD! I thought you’d gone off and left me alone outside my box!!” If he’d had a forearm and a sweaty brow, he’d have used them.

Years later, we adopted a retired racing greyhound. Before we could take her home, we were required to buy an airline crate, because racing greyhounds spend most of their days and nights inside similar containers. Having a crate of her own helped her make the transition from kennel life to living in a house with humans.

I can’t comment on the Massachusetts dog law. If they’ve made it illegal, I suppose then you can’t do it. But seeing as nobody pulled them over on their way to Canada, I question that it was illegal in 1983. I’d also point out that we’re talking about the only State that voted for McGovern. Dumb, intrustive laws are their specialty.  http://www.dumblaws.com/laws/united-states/massachusetts

So … in the interest of fair and balanced mockery … here is the Right Wingnut Neener Neener on the Horrible Abuse of Dogs by Presidential Candidates forum:

 Obama has actually EATEN A DOG! OMG, how can dog lovers vote for him!?!?!


Chrissy’s Site Bites: http://news.webshots.com/photo/2749998390056011884BvlEbu

Click on graphic to embiggen.

I can’t take credit for the jokes on the graphic.

I swiped them from http://dailycaller.com/2012/04/17/obama-bites-dog/

H/t Pete’s Grudge Report

5 Comments

Filed under Barack Obama, Funny Stuff, Mitt Romney, Videos

5 responses to “A Dog Lover for Romney

  1. Pingback: Cooking with Lolo | PoliNation