THE THURSDAY GRUDGE

posted by Pistol Pete

NEWEST AD FROM GOP.COM

WHO WILL BAT AGAINST ‘ALIBI OBAMA?’

http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/who-will-bat-against-alibi-obama/2011/07/05/gIQAiImI1H_story.html?hpid=z2

HOYER SAYS HE’LL HELP GOP ON DEBT-CEILING VOTE,BUT AT A PRICE

We’ve established what you are,now we’re just haggling over the price.

http://thehill.com/homenews/house/169867-dem-leader-says-hell-help-gop-on-debt-vote-at-a-price

OBAMA DEFENDS ECONOMIC RECORD AT FIRST TWITTER TOWN HALL

http://thehill.com/blogs/hillicon-valley/technology/169985-obama-defends-economic-record-in-first-twitter-town-hall

KYL:REPUBLICANS AGREE TO REVENUE INCREASES IN DEFICIT TALKS

http://thehill.com/blogs/hillicon-valley/technology/169985-obama-defends-economic-record-in-first-twitter-town-hall

REUTERS ERRONEOUSLY REPORTS GOP TAX HIKE DEAL

Oops;Reuters guilty of premature publication.

(I could have made a sexual reference,but that would be in bad taste)

http://bigjournalism.com/tag/debt-talks/

NEWSWEAK BOSS SAYS GOP ARE ‘SUICIDE BOMBERS’

This rag was sold for $1.00;Tina Brown gives them every penny’s worth

http://newsbusters.org/blogs/eric-ames/2011/07/06/calm-morning-joe-newsweek-boss-tina-brown-says-gop-are-suicide-bombers#ixzz1RNCRRHRp

WHITE HOUSE USES PROGRESSIVE MEDIA DIRECTOR TO BULLY CONSERVATIVES ON TWITTER

http://newsbusters.org/blogs/aubrey-vaughan/2011/07/06/white-house-uses-progressive-media-director-bully-conservatives-twit

SOMEBODY ACTUALLY HAD SEX WITH THIS;APPARENTLY THEY CAN’T TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A WOMAN AND A CROCODILE

‘NO DRAMA’ OBAMA LOSING HIS COOL

He never had any;the presstitutes just tried to convince people that he did.

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2011/jul/6/no-drama-obama-losing-his-cool/

VIDEO:VIOLENT RHETORIC:OBAMA SAYS GOP ‘PUTTING A GUN TO THE HEAD’ OF THE AMERICAN PEOPLE

http://www.breitbart.tv/violent-rhetoric-obama-says-gop-putting-gun-against-heads-of-american-people/

OBAMA’S UNDERHANDED BUDGET ENDGAME

http://www.americanthinker.com/2011/07/the_underhanded_endgame_to_achieve_social_justice.html

TWITTER TOWNHALL DISASTER

I’ll resist the temptation to call yesterday’s debacle ‘tweeting for twits’-I have more class than that

http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2011/07/obama-fails-to-lead-lies-and-promotes-failed-policies-in-twitter-town-hall-disaster/

RUSH:BOXER LIES ON CLINTON BUDGET,REID GRIPES ON TAXING MILLIONAIRES

http://www.rushlimbaugh.com/home/daily/site_070611/content/01125109.guest.html

OUR PRICKLY PRESIDENT

I’d have left the last two letters of the second word out-but that’s just me

http://spectator.org/archives/2011/07/06/our-prickly-president

CAMPAIGN 2012-ARE WE OVER THE ‘BLACK THING’ YET?

Never will be;how else can democrats keep the black sheeple on the liberal plantation for race and class hatred?

http://www.americanthinker.com/2011/07/campaign_2012_are_we_over_the_black_thing_yet.html

WHY WON’T THE GOP AGREE TO A TAX INCREASE?

Professional race-hater Eugene Robinson is outrageously outraged-or something

http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/morning-jay-should-gop-agree-raise-taxes_576334.html

SCHUMER:GOP RISKS ‘FISCAL ARMAGEDDON’

http://thehill.com/blogs/floor-action/senate/169861-schumer-gops-hard-line-pushes-fiscal-armageddon

A DEMOCRATS’ TWO MINUTES HATE?

http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2011/07/a_democrats_two_minutes_hate.html

TEAM CASEY GIVES AMERICA THE FINGER

Thanks,suckers!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2011804/Casey-Anthony-verdict-Jose-Baez-defence-team-celebrate-champagne-party.html

THE FIRST TWIT CAN’T KEEP IT TO 140 CHARACTERS

http://www.nationaljournal.com/whitehouse/in-twitter-town-hall-obama-tweets-his-way-into-2012-20110706

‘THE DICK’: ‘I DON’T DISAGREE WITH PAUL RYAN’

http://www.cnsnews.com/news/article/sen-majority-whip-i-don-t-disagree-paul

25 Comments

Filed under Barack Obama, Democrats, Economy, Media Bias, Talk Radio, Taxes, U.S. Congress

25 responses to “THE THURSDAY GRUDGE

  1. Lloyd Marcus’s article is right on the money. Whenever I hear black liberals going on and on about slavery and how blacks are still suffering the effects of it and how they are owed reparations, I always want to ask them if they would go back and undo it if that meant that they would have been born somewhere in Africa rather than in the United States. No, I’m not defending slavery and I’m not denying that it was a horrible crime against humanity. But no black American living today has ever been a slave, and the reality is that so far from being irreparably harmed by slavery, in one of those bizarre twists of history they are actually its beneficiaries. There is no country on earth where it is better to be a black person than the U.S., and they had the good luck to be born here only because their ancestors were brought here against their will. If I were black, I would consider that to be my reparations: the fact that I was lucky enough to have been born in the U.S.A.

    Like

  2. FranklytheNut

    Hillbuzz got a quote on Rush today. Blech! I guess that’s one of the reasons why he’s only right 96% of the time! LOL

    Like

    • On HB, commenter DeniseVB panned them v PoliNation, but her link was mis-typed and there were three commenters who, oh, gosh! couldn’t figure it out nor could find this site with searching. I posted a correct link to PoliNation, in the process adding my defense of HB as being better than watching grass grow (er, um, having rather recently read through the sad record of an infamous meltddown event — you know the one — I report this with slight (slight) trepidation — those who think less of me for that can go here), also praising PoliNation and a general Yay! for good blogs. I’ll repeat what I said there: What I wouldn’t know without everybody digging out the news, and mulling ideas, is encyclopedic! Linkage is the revolution against the LaughingStock Media tyranny.

      Limbaugh can be fun, the old sputterer, but getting a plug from Mark Levin, now that would be something to write home about! Any ideas for getting Levin to notice PoliNation? 🙂

      PoliNation is kind of hard to find with search engines, though. Google first searches “pollination,” but even using the helpfully-proffered other search page (using the spelling I typed in!), this site is down the page a ways. (Your results may vary.) Also, using the search function up top of wordpress.com for “polination” turns up zero results. One has to search specifically for “PoliNation” with the upper-case P and N. Stupid stupid search engine programmers.

      Like

      • Oh, Mindful, if you had any idea how long we debated before choosing a name for the blog, and how many different ones we considered and rejected! It took us weeks to settle on “PoliNation.” And now we learn that we’re hard to find! Sigh…

        No one here will think ill of you for liking HB. We are nearely all former buzzers and many of us still lurk there and occasionally comment. The USO debacle last November was what really turned many of us off. (That, and Kevin’s penchant for disappearing for extended periods of time without explanation or apology.) But please know that you are welcome here and that we respect the right of everyone to frequent whatever sites /blogs/etc. he/she chooses.

        Like

        • What A Hoot

          I feel for you, Bob.

          Like

        • “We are nearely all former buzzers and many of us still lurk there and occasionally comment. Heh, yeah, kinda hard to miss, especially after I finally got around to plowing through the entire Snarkopolitan logs a few weeks back. My trepidation was simply that I wouldn’t want to be muddying this lovely crystal pool when things are going so swimmingly. (Block that metaphor!) Moving on….

          “…now we learn that we’re hard to find! Just get immensely popular (heh — sorry Chrissy) and PoliNation will top the search pages… well, still not the first one that tries to correct the spelling, but the second one. 🙂

          Chrissy, I sympathize with preferring a low profile. The more traffic, the more critics, flamers, and trolls, and the more moderation required. I used to think, back decades before the net was invented (but I knew it was coming) that the world network would be a great way to reach the tiny niche market that might enjoy my eclectic creations, but now I realize that to reach those few (divine beneficence aside), you almost have to be well-known, which means inviting tons of trouble. Anyway, I’m still safe as long as the site continues to deserve its secondary slogan, “the Internet’s best-kept secret since 1996″℠!

          Pardon a bit more technobabbling: I ran into a problem trying to link from a page on my site to the July 1 “Poli-tick admits he’s a bottom feeder” page. I finally figured out, my site’s software couldn’t handle the angled-apostrophe (yes, there are different apostrophes) in the URL. I have to substitute — get this — %E2%80%99 for the apostrophe! Figured that out thanks to a utility on this page — handy to know in case anybody else ever runs into such a problem. The software ought to be set to disallow such characters in URLs, but I expect that’s a WordPress thing, outside of your control. End of tech lesson for the day; you will awaken feeling refreshed and alert.

          Like

          • chrissythehyphenated

            I can appreciate your frustration with the apostrophe. I send many e-postcards from Chrissy’s Site Bites and have yet to figure out how to get the postcard message text to use single and double quote marks.

            I type it into THEIR message box and the punctuation shows up fine, but when Webshots formats to send the postcard, these marks turn into diamonds with question marks, which make the text hard to read and my message look stupid.

            I wrote to Webshots, but no fix to date.

            These are not esoteric marks, like the English pound sign or an umlaut. Criminetly, they’ve been on every typewriter keyboard since … well, way before the internet, that’s fer darned sure. Argh.

            Like

      • chrissythehyphenated

        I find I don’t much mind we’re tough to find. I kinda prefer to ride a bit under the radar, if you KWIM. Avoid the professional trolls … at least one of whom is, according to a Congressional report, PAID BY US to go to rightwing sites and disrupt the comment sections!

        So far as I’m concerned, this site belongs to God and He’ll get the folks He wants here one way or t’other. I know from personal experience that I’ve stumbled into sites I needed to see on the day I needed to see them without any apparent connection between what I was searching or trying to link to and where I ended up.

        Meanwhile, I’ll go on praying protection over us. On the earthly plane, we’re fighting a political and cultural war. But there’s a bigger reality at work and I prefer to cover all my bases.

        Like

      • Thanks for correcting my link mindperson. What could’ve gone wrong with my copy/paste? Oh well….

        I’ve donated several ones of dollars to HB over the past couple of years to encourage the site’s message and just didn’t feel my investment was paying off in content, as was promised. I wasn’t panning them as much as feeling the new *improved* HB was a major disappointment for all the promises for my $upport.

        Like

    • Ting

      What did he say, Frankly?

      Like

  3. What A Hoot

    Grudging pretty good today; thematic. I see descriptions like “Prickly minus the the last two letters” and “First Twit” (which really made me chuckle) and finally “The Dick” which is the lead in for a link that has the word “whip” in it’s title. Too good.

    Like

  4. chrissythehyphenated

    “LaughingStock Media tyranny” LOVE IT!! 🙂

    Like

    • AHA! Glad you like it, the Hyphenated! I’ve been using “LaughingStock Media” in comments on various blogs since the Palin emails non-scandal, and yours is the first acknowledgement of it. MSM became LSM and I was trying to give the latter new meaning (and see if I can get a new Internet meme going). 🙂

      Like

      • chrissythehyphenated

        I hope you succeed!! (I have similar ambitions for my wingnut thing.) I made an album about media bias that I named Left Stream Media, but Laughing Stock is much more fun. 🙂

        Like

  5. chrissythehyphenated

    RE: Kevin’s disappearing acts …

    He has some fairly serious health problems that he won’t discuss publicly. Since I’m disabled, he opened up to me privately. I don’t want to violate that confidence with particulars, just thought I’d mention that when he disappears, he isn’t playing hooky. He’s either well enough to be working at a paying temp job or flat on his back in bed.

    Dunno why he is so quiet about it, seeing as he does complain long and loud about other stuff that’s wrong with his life. But it’s his choice and I must respect it, as I hope others respect the personal things I share occasionally in private.

    Like

    • Ting

      I’m sorry to hear that.

      Like

    • I wish only the best (and healing thoughts) to both KD and Hillbuzz. Thanks for sharing Chrissy, but for the life of me, I’ll never donate another cent to a blog site that begs for money on a promise.

      Like

    • Well, that sheds a whole new light on the situation, at least for me. I can see that I was too eager to think the worst of Kevin, and assume that he was just being a flake. I stand corrected, and I will pray for his healing. Thank you, Chrissy.

      Like

      • What A Hoot

        I am sorry to hear KD is not feeling well, also. However, if he could take the time to let friends know his “true” situation, manners and respect would dictate he also let his “co-workers” know he is exiting for awhile. You do not leave your business associates hanging. (And if this is not the case and I somehow got the wrong impression of the scenario, I apologize)

        Like

    • Dee

      Well, that tidbit puts the USO thread in a different light, especially if he was just coming into or getting out of a period where he was flat on his back.

      Like